News Categories
NVIDIA Renames Tegra 3 Architecture as 4-PLUS-1
By Lionell Go Macahilig - on 23 Feb 2012, 4:03pm

NVIDIA Renames Tegra 3 Architecture as 4-PLUS-1

Image source: NVIDIA

From the mouthful “variable symmetric multiprocessing” (that’s 32 letters), NVIDIA has now renamed the term for Tegra 3’s unique architecture as 4-PLUS-1. So what’s the logic behind the name? “4” stands for the four cores of the chip, whereas “PLUS-1” refers to the companion core which is also known as the “ninja core”. In 4-PLUS-1 architecture, the four cores are designed to juggle demanding tasks like gaming, while the companion core will handle less strenuous ones such as handling of emails. With a shorter moniker, NVIDIA anticipates that consumers will easily recognize the core technology of Tegra 3. Consumers might expect to see the name “4-PLUS-1” on the boxes of Tegra 3-powered devices.

Source: NVIDIA Blog