News Categories

Ford Philippines announces the winners of 17th Henry Ford Awards

By Nestor Domingo Jr - on 27 Jan 2018, 4:55pm

Ford Philippines announces the winners of 17th Henry Ford Awards

awards, ford philippines, henry ford awards, journalism, media, motoring

Ford Philippines announced on Tuesday evening the winners of the 17th annual Henry Ford Awards (HFA) at the Marquis Events Place in Bonifacio Global City, Taguig. The motoring brand continues the yearly tradition of recognizing excellence in automotive journalism and the country’s esteemed roster of journalists.

However, in this edition, HFA has awarded winners from 16 categories, and they were selected from a total of 210 entries that were submitted by members of the print, online, and broadcast media whose stories, columns, photographs, and videos have collectively taken the Philippine automotive industry to a whole new level.

“The Henry Ford Awards is our way of giving back and recognizing the hard work and effort that our automotive media give to boost the industry. We are confident that the winners will serve as an inspiration to the next generation of automotive journalists with their passion and dedication to their craft,” said Bertrand Lessard, managing director, Ford Philippines.

The following are the list of 16 winners awarded during the 17th Henry Ford Awards:

Regular Category:

Automotive Print Feature
Mariano Jose Tamayo of Top Gear Philippines

Automotive Column
Patrick Everett Tadeo of Carmudi Magazine Philippines

Automotive Online Feature
Froilan Victor Bacungan, Jr. of CNN Philippines

Automotive Print Lifestyle Feature
Eric Tipan of Carmudi Magazine Philippines

Automotive Online Lifestyle Feature
Paul John Caña of Forbes Philippines

Published Photograph
Jerel Fajardo of C! Magazine

Automotive Road Safety Feature
Iñigo Roces of

Automotive Green Feature
Kristoffer Lim of AutoCar Philippines

Smart Technology Feature
Vince Christian Pornelos of

Automotive Video Feature
Mark Francis Jesalva of

Automotive Industry Feature
Mariano Jose Tamayo of

Special Category:

Ford Automotive Feature
Maria Cecilia Carpena of

Ford Automotive Video Feature

Ford Published Photograph
Jerel Fajardo of C! Magazine

Ford ‘Go Further’ Feature
Ronald de los Reyes of Business Mirror

Best Broadsheet Motoring Section
Philippine Daily Inquirer

awards, ford philippines, henry ford awards, journalism, media, motoring

The 17th Henry Ford Awards saw an esteemed panel of judges for both first and second phases who comprised of experts in the academe, corporate world, and the motoring industry.

Joining the first phase of the judges were the members of the academe, including some who had been part of the HPA in the past:

Dr. Elena Pernia
Dean, College of Mass Communication,
University of the Philippines Diliman

Dr. Severino Sarmenta, Jr.
Former Chair, Department of Communication,
Ateneo de Manila University

Dr. Cheryll Soriano
Chair, Department of Communication,
De La Salle University-Manila

Mr. Ron Castro
Senior Marketing Consultant and Professor for Brand Activation and Sales & Channel Management, University of Asia and the Pacific

Meanwhile, here is the pool of judges in the second phase of the competition:

Mr. Mark Brian Nicdao
Country External Relations for Downstream and Internal Communication Manager,
Shell Philippines

Ms. Marla Alvarez
Regional Manager, Corporate Responsibility & Inclusive Asia Pacific,
Thomson Reuters 

Ms. Raquel Lichauco
Corporate Communications Professional of 30 years

Mr. Bertrand Lessard
Managing Director,
Ford Philippines

And capping the roster are the special judges of the year:

Mr. Jake Verzosa
Professional Lifestyle Photographer

Mr. Michael Sicam
Executive Creative Director,
Ogilvy & Mather Philippines

Mr. Quark Henares
Film and TV Director